Under 21 Fines and Penalties in California
The legal drinking age in the United States is federally regulated at 21 years of age. In order to discourage underage drinking, California is especially critical of people under 21 years old charged with driving under the influence of alcohol. If you are not 21 years old and have been charged with Drunk Driving, contact our defense lawyers today, you need a qualified and experienced California DUI defense lawyer to defend your freedom, your driving privileges and your bank account.
Since persons under the age of twenty one (21) are not even legally permitted to drink alcohol, California DUI laws have a zero tolerance of licensed drivers showing any signs of alcohol consumption while behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. If an underage (under 21 years old) driver has any measurable quantity of alcohol in their breath or blood or shows signs via breath, saliva or urine, at the time of the test, which needs to be administered within two (2) hours of arrest, that person can be convicted of driving under the influence.
An underage driver arrested for drunk driving or driving under the influence can have their licensed revoked or suspended at the time of arrest. The convicted underage driver can also have their license suspended for up to two years and face many hours of community service.
If you are under twenty one (21) and have been charged with a DUI or DWI in California, contact DUIAttorneyLosAngeles.org and retain us to be your DUI lawyers. We are experienced, we know the courts and we know how the prosecutors work. We take pride in our DUI Defense work, we want to defend you, call us today.