DUI Attorney Redondo Beach
DUI/DWI cases in California State have been increasing over the past few years. That is the precise reason why the state has implemented a more rigid DUI law in California. Accordingly, the number of cases filed against DWI defendants in court also increased. Thus, the need for reliable and efficient DUI attorneys in Redondo Beach CA is at hand. If you have been arrested for suspicion of driving under the influence talk with one of our Rehdondo Beach DUI defense attorneys to go over your case.
Our Los Angeles DUI Defense law office has been in the forefront of battling DWI litigation in Redondo Beach City. In fact, our Redondo Beach DWI attorneys have been proven to be the best in the field of providing competent and reliable DWI legal service. It has been our mission to look over your cases with utmost diligence and dedication in order to afford your rights the protection it deserves. Thus, in compliance with our mission, we herewith provide some information regarding the DWI law in the State of California. To find out more about your rights, contact our DUI attorney in Redondo Beach and plan your DUI defense.
The State of California has been implementing a number of Drunk Driving Laws which prescribes the following acts as illegal: drivers under 21 years of age may not carry unsealed beer, wine or liquor in their vehicle while driving alone except when said fellow is working for a liquor store or other related merchandise distributor, drivers under the age of 21 may not drive with a BAC level of .01 or higher, drivers under the age of 21 may not consume alcohol in any form including cough syrup, and prescription drugs, any driver may not drive with a BAC of .08 or higher, the driver of any vehicle requiring commercial driver’s license may not drive with a BAC of .04 percent or higher, a driver under the age of 18 may not drive with ANY measurable blood alcohol concentration and lastly, repeat offenders may not drive with a BAC of .01 or higher.
From the foregoing, it is imminent that the DUI California State Law provides stricter prohibitions against minor drivers and repeat offenders. Thus under the law, the following graduated penalties are provided:
For the first time offenders, the defendant may be subjected to suffer jail time of 4 days to 6 months, fines and penalties of $1400 to $2600, license suspension of 30 days to 10 months and IID in some counties. For the second offense, the defendant may suffer 10 days to 1 year of imprisonment, fine of $1800 to $2800, license suspension of 2 years and IID. For the third offense, the penalty prescribed is 120 days to 1 year of imprisonment, fine of $1800 to $18000, license suspension of 3 years and IID is required.
More laws have been implemented in California concerning DWI. In 2011, the California State law has expanded the number of categories that allows the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) to immediately suspend a driver’s license once the driver is suspected of DUI.
Also, in July 2010, California has implemented changes to the DUI laws which includes the mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). Also, California laws shortened the length of time during which driving penalties are restricted even for repeat offenders. Also, in relation to IID, its manufacturers are required to provide certain information to the Department of Motor Vehicles. The latter, on the other hand, are required to establish pilot program in some of the counties as a condition of being issued with a restricted driver’s license, a driver’s license or having the privilege to operate a motor vehicle reinstated, a person to install an ignition interlock device on all vehicles that they own or operate and to participate in an alcohol and drug assessment program and to pay a fee.