DUI Attorney Long Beach CA
A number of DUI/DWI laws have been implemented in Long Beach California. The purpose of the passage of additional DWI laws is to bolster California’s present DUI/DWI laws in order to reinforce the state’s present DUI legislation If you have been arrested for suspicion of Drunk Driving in Long Beach it is imperative that you consult with our DUI defense attorneys to go over your arrest.
The present DUI laws in Long Beach California provides for the following penalties:
For the first offense, the defendant shall be penalized with imprisonment of 4 days to 6 months, fine and penalties of $1400 to $2600, license suspension of 30 days to 10 months and IID if required in the City of Long Beach. For the second offense, the defendant shall be subjected to a penalty of imprisonment for 10 days to 1 year, fines and penalties of $1400 to $2600, license suspension of 30 days to 10 months and IID. For the third offense, the defendant shall be made to serve prison term of 120 days to 1 year, fine of $1800 to $18000, license suspension of 3 years and IID is required. Our DUI defense Long Beach attorney are experts in the field of DUI case law and have defended many clients in Long Beach CA. Call and receive a free consultation with one of the best DUI lawyers in Los Angeles.
The installation of IID or ignition interlock device has been made a subject of several legislations which made it mandatory for DWI convicted felons to install the device to any vehicle they owned or are being driven by them. Under Senate Bill 1190, it was stated that the minimum blood alcohol percentage at the time of the DUI arrest was lowered and that the court shall be allowed by the law to require the person arrested to install a certified ignition interlock device on any vehicle that the person owned or operates and prohibits said person from operating a vehicle without said device. On the other hand, Senate Bill 1388 requires a person to install a certified ignition interlock device immediately on all vehicle owned by him or operated by him for a certain period of time once they have been convicted of DUI provisions and driving a motor vehicle when their licenses has been suspended or revoked as a result of a DUI-related conviction. Said law also provides the number of violations which will determine the period of time for which the IID device will be required to remain installed in their vehicles. The statute also set the scheme with which a person will be informed of the installment requirements and related fees.
The following acts were also ruled as illegal in the State of California:
- Drivers who are under the age of 21 are prohibited from carrying unsealed beer, wine or liquor in the vehicle while driving alone. The exception to this prohibition lies when said individual is employed with a business related to the distribution, manufacturing or selling of alcohol products.
- Drivers who are under the age of 21 may not drive with a blood alcohol concentration level of 0.01% or higher.
- Drivers who are below the age of 21 are prohibited to consume alcohol in any form, including cough syrup, and prescription drugs.
- Any driver may not drive with a BAC level of .08 % or higher.
- Any driver of a commercial vehicle is not allowed to drive with an alcohol content level of .08% or higher.
- The driver of any vehicle requiring a commercial driver’s license is prohibited from operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .04 percent or higher.
- A driver who is under the age of 18 years cannot drive with any measurable blood alcohol concentration.
- Repeat offenders cannot drive with a BAC of .01 percent or higher.
Our DUI defense law office has been proven to give ample assistance of DWI defendants. For more information, you may come and visit our office and be assured that our DUI attorneys in Long Beach City will attend to your needs.